The Yan Kit So Award 2010

for unpublished food writing on Asia


The Yan Kit So Memorial Award is now administered by Asia House, London. Asia House introduces it in these words:

"If you're an enthusiast of Asian food and are always creating new recipes or adding to old favourites, then why not put all your recipes into one book? This is your opportunity to create a unique cookery book based on Asian cuisine from any corner of Asia, whilst learning more about the cuisine and culture of Asia.

"Asia House presents an award to assist unpublished food writers in researching and writing on the food of Asia. The inspiration for the award has come from the work of Yan Kit So (1933-2001) - Britain's leading authority on Chinese cuisine. She was a tireless promoter of food in Asia and her first book, The Classic Chinese Cookbook, won the Glenfiddich Best Book of the Year award in 1984, the first time a Chinese cookbook had ever won a major food award. In the same year, Yan Kit also won the prestigious Andre Simon Award.

"To honour her memory, Asia House is offering The Yan Kit So Award for Asian Food Writing 2010. This is a bursary to assist first-time cookery writers by providing support for travel and research expenses during the time in which a book proposal is being written and before a publishing contract has been awarded.

"The maximum bursary available is £2,500, and will vary, depending on proposals and budgets. It will be awarded to those who show significant contributions to the knowledge of Asian food, encouraging the next generation of cookery writers. Applicants must reside in the UK and must not have already published a food or cookery book.

"Applications will be evaluated by David Thompson, Head Chef of Michelin-starred restaurant Nahm; Lyn Hall, winner of the Glenfiddich Food Book Award, and founder of the renowned La Petite Cuisine School of Cooking; and Mei Ling, Lady Harris, co-Chair of Asia House Cultural Patrons."


For further details, please contact Betty Yao on 0207 307 5439, or e-mail